Winners were announced by e.Republic’s Center for Digital Education (Center) and Converge online as recipients of the Center’s 2011 Digital Education Achievement Awards (DEAA) and Best of the Web Awards.  The Best of the Web Awards recognize and honor outstanding K-12 and higher education websites while the Digital Education Achievement Awards recognize outstanding contributions at the application, intranet and infrastructure level, all to the benefit and quality of online education for students and teachers.

“As online education proliferates, the portal is becoming increasingly important in keeping educators, parents and students connected,” said Cathilea Robinett, executive director of the Center for Digital Education. “This year’s recognized education institutions are providing best practice models for disseminating clear communication and easy-to-access information. The Center congratulates them on their achievements and looks forward to their continuing creativity in the education of America’s students.”

2011 BEST OF THE WEB AWARD WINNERS – Congratulations!

K-12 District Education Website category

Kent School District, Washington

College-University Website category

James B. Edwards College of Dental Medicine Campus Virtual Tour, Medical University of South Carolina

Community College Website category

Rappahannock Community College, Virginia

Department of Education Website category

Alabama Learning Exchange (ALEX)


Department of Education Digital Application/Project category


Honorable Mention:

School FIRST for Charter Schools (CSSF), Texas

Higher Education Digital Application/Project category


Honorable Mentions:

The Center for Digital Education (CDE) is a national research and advisory institute specializing in K-12 and higher education technology trends, policy, and funding. CDE supports the Converge media platform comprising the Converge Special Reports,, and custom publishing services.

The Center is a division of e.Republic, a national publishing, event and research company focused on smart media for public sector innovation.


Janet Grenslitt

Director of Surveys and Awards